it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas [Vienna]

Yes, I realize I’ve been home for a couple months now, but it’s about time I finally finish up my last few posts. I was just trying to extend the experience for us all…

After a couple relaxing weekends in Parma, it was time for me to begin exploring again. On December 2nd (Andrew’s birthday!) I left for Vienna, Austria, eager for the Christmas season of 2011 to begin. Christmas markets, here I come!

Joe R., Cailin and I left for Vienna in the morning and arrived just in time to find a delicious and authentic Viennese dinner. We wandered into this cute little restaurant near our hostel that was run by a man from Chicago and his wife. Not only did we get delicious food (and Joe got that Austrian beer he wanted) but we were entertained by his strange sense of humor and talk of American culture.

my first Viennese dinner... meat and potatoes!

After our delicious dinner, we decided to take a walk through the streets of Vienna at night. The next morning we would be taking a walking tour of the city, but what’s better than seeing the beauty of a city at night?? Plus, I needed to see some Christmas lights!!

Hofburg Palace and the Spanish riding school

Beautiful Christmas lights in all different shapes, sizes, and colors filled the city streets. I took a picture of every single type of Christmas light I saw because I was just so excited for Christmas spirit! I can't even describe how beautiful everything looked.

St. Stephen's Cathedral and the Vienna Christmas tree

You would not believe how giddy I was to see so many Christmas decorations. Christmas is my favorite time of year and to start the season in such a beautiful European city famous around the world for its Christmas markets and celebration was such a blessing.

The next morning we woke up early for a tour of Vienna in which we learned about the history, politics, and society of the city. I knew very little about Vienna or Austria before taking this tour, so taking the tour was definitely worth it. Not only was I seeing the major sights of the city, but I was learning about them!

one of Mozart's many apartments in Vienna but this is the one he spent the most time in (the open window on the top floor) AND one of the few remaining spots where the original city walls of Vienna stand (the brick wall curving around Mozart's building)

inside Hofburg Palace, former seat of the Hapsburg dynasty and other kings of the Holy Roman Empire/current seat of the Austrian president

Augustinian Church connected to Hofburg Palace, where members of the Hapsburg dynasty were married and buried their hearts (yes, only their hearts) when they died

the beautiful organ within Augustinian Church (Hofburg Palace)

inside of St. Stephen's Cathedral, Vienna's main church built in 1147

As much as I loved everything in Vienna, no sight compared to the Vienna State Opera House (built in 1869). There are three sections to the opera house: two winged entrances and the center portion with the theatre. During World War II, the theatre was bombed, leaving only the entrance wings in their original condition.

the ceiling inside one of the entrance halls of the Vienna State Opera House

a meeting room in the emperor's suite within the Opera House

the staircase leading from the entrance halls to the upper wings... I loved this staircase. I don't know why, but it reminded me of the Titanic.

a room for cocktail hour at the Opera House

The theatre was rebuilt in the 1950s in the modern style, making it more sleek and streamlined (in the ’50s style) as compared with the ornate and intricate details of the original building.

backstage! and looking over towards the audience on the right

the ceiling in the theater--Notice the distinct contrast in styles between this and the earlier pictures.

Today, Vienna State Opera House puts on between 50 and 60 different plays and operas every year, totaling around 200 performances during its 10-month season. It’s common to find a different play every night of the week during the busy season.

Not only that, but two plays will be on stage a day. During the morning one play will be on stage rehearsing with props, costumes, and backdrops. Then those goods will be shipped to the storage facility half an hour away in the afternoon; the scenery and costumes for that evening’s performance will be brought to the theatre on the return trip. While this may seem like a lot of unnecessary work, the house is packed almost every night, filling both seats and standing-room only spots which are sold only hours before the performance begins.

stage view

This trip was full of so many great experiences… After our tour of the opera house, Joe and I spent time in the prettiest Christmas market (while Cailin was visiting a family friend). We had fun looking at all the booths and drinking the many types of mulled wine that we had been hearing about for days. Apple was the best. It tasted like a hard apple cider with many more spices thrown in. Yummy!!

Christmas market in front of town hall

more of the Christmas market

The next morning we took the trip to Schonbrun Palace a little bit outside of the city, where the Hapsburg family used to summer. The palace was gorgeous, but decorated in the Rococo style, which is too frilly for my tastes. I just loved being in a place where so many historical events have taken place, including a meeting of JFK and Nikita Krushchev in 1961. Besides, this is my future backyard so it was nice to see it before I officially move onto the property… 😉

Schonbrun Palace

the backyard of Schonbrun (aka my future backyard?)

For lunch we stopped at a quaint little restaurant recommended to us by one of Joe’s friends who grew up in Vienna. It was so authentic that you just couldn’t help but love it. I had chicken schnitzel (which I had never heard of before this trip) and it was delicious! It’s basically just a chicken cutlet/giant chicken finger. Who knew??

chicken schnitzel and delicious potatoes

I can’t describe how much I loved the Christmas-y feel of Vienna. Although I’m sure I would’ve loved it no matter when I visited, if you get a chance to, visit in December when the Christmas markets are open and the city is decorated. It’s breathtaking!

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas [Vienna]

  1. Ursuline Farrell

    Lyss, I knew I missed your travelogs, but I didn’t know how much. You take us there with your words and pictures. Thank you so much! Gram

Leave a comment