relaxing in Parma… finally :)

I spend most of my time in Parma doing what anyone would do in his/her hometown… I go to wake up, go to class, do homework, cook dinner, clean the apartment, go shopping, bike around town, and go to town events… except I’m in Italy and this is my first apartment so everything seems so much more exciting! These are photos from my daily life in Parma… πŸ™‚

Bridget and Cynthia walking through Parma

Parma’s “river”

I love autumn ❀

villa family dinner numero 3 (or maybe 4?) was molto delicioso!

the organic festival we went to on Saturday around town

After our class trip to the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese factory we went to a beautiful castle. We didn’t go inside, but we wandered around the outside through the gardens, taking pictures, being silly, and taking naps (?!)…

the castle

the garden

the girls πŸ™‚

such a beautiful day

Joe resting on the bench

Regular classes resumed after our excursion through the countryside, but I love that we can go and actually experience culture and history in person as we travel through Italy. THIS is exactly what study abroad should be. Classroom learning is important, but just as important are the experiences that shape a person’s way of thinking and challenge her assumptions. I’ve learned so much about myself through BC and its emphasis on experiential learning… my PULSE class that taught me philosophy and theology through a community service placement in the South End of Boston, TechTrek that showed me the business world/organizational culture/technology through our field study in Silicon Valley, and now classes in Italy that teach me about the things I’m experiencing everyday from the language to the culture and the sights. As I sat in front of the Venice train station this weekend (more about that later), a man from Detroit struck up a conversation with me because he saw me studying in English. We talked about my studies and travels as I gave him travel advice and as we were parting he commented that I didn’t realize how lucky I was.

But that’s where he’s wrong… I do know how lucky I am.

When people say that to me it actually gets me really upset. This man talked to me for ten minutes and he doesn’t know me personally so I’m not attacking him, but he’s not the only person who’s said this to me; even people close to me have said it and that hurts even worse. I’m not going to deny that I have a fairly easy life; I think fully recognizing that leads to an appreciation for everything and everyone I have in my life. I have two parents and an amazing brother who love me, a family who’d do anything for me, and friends who are always there for me. I rarely have to worry about anything of great substance. My parents ensure that my focus is on my schoolwork and becoming the person that I want to be. I know that I’m extremely lucky to have the experiences that I do and even the time and motivation to reflect upon them, especially at such a young age. While experiences like mine are certainly a privilege, the SJ Cadet in me recognizes that there is a responsibility that comes with this privilege (see, what I learned in high school is actually applicable to real life!); experiences like this are not something that should be wasted because not everyone is lucky enough to have them.

My parents do more for me than I should ever expect and though I may not thank them enough out loud, I hope they know that I appreciate everything they do for me. So Mom and Dad, thank you not only for financial and material support, but thank you for your dedication, caring concern, opportunities for growth and learning, conversations that challenge my beliefs, loyalty, love, and experiences that give me a different perspective on my own life (among many other things). I don’t mean for this to sound conceited, but I finally like the person that I’m becoming after years of uncertainty and that’s all because of what you’ve given me. I appreciate that and all the little moments in my life (both with you and on my own that have been shaped by your influence) more than you can ever know. I love you and miss you!

p.s. Mom, don’t cry πŸ˜‰ I can hear you sniffling all the way from Parma!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “relaxing in Parma… finally :)

  1. Dad

    You are a beautiful young woman, inside and out.
    I LOVE AND MISS YOU TOO !

  2. Laura Zaprzalka

    Sniffling? Are you kidding? I’m blubbering.

Leave a comment